Wine Wednesday – Blenheim Vineyards Painted White 2009

Happy Wine Wednesday!  In a record setting precedent, I’m drinking white wine for the second week in a row.

20130130-203322.jpg

I made some yummy quesadillas with caramelized onions, spinach, and feta cheese for dinner, and thought that a white wine would suit the dinner well.  So, I headed down to the basement to grab a chilled white, and found 3 bottles.  Three bottles.  That’s how often we drink white wine in this house.  Even in the heat of summer.

My pairing options were a Riesling, a Barboursville Phileo, or Blenheim Vineyards Painted White.  In my mind, I needed to stay away from the sweet-sweet-sweetness of Riesling and Moscato, and totally forgot that I had a 4 year old white wine stashed away… so the choice was… clear?

I know whites are typically not aged for long – most of them are better young.  But I guess I forgot?  I may or may not have written about my less-than-stellar luck with the Painted wines… but the past 2 Painted Reds that I’ve opened have just been off.  I don’t know whether it was a storage or bottling issue, but both bottles were pretty much undrinkable, which made me sad.  So I’ll be honest – I opened the Painted White and expected the same.  But, even after 4 years, this little guy was delish.  It didn’t pair so well with my dinner, so lesson learned.

No big deal.  That’s just me and Dave Matthews.  Jenny and Blair were there to, but who’s counting?

photo-3

Anyway – as I love most things Dave Matthews, I love this wine.  I loved tasting it back in the day, and although I don’t own any of the bottles between 2010 and 2013 – I’m assuming I drank them at some point – my faith in the Painted series has been restored.

Fun fact: Dave draws the picture for the bottle label each year.  Because he is way more talented than I can ever hope to be.  Hey, boots.

Blenheim Vineyards Painted White 2009 🍷🍷🍷
A mild white wine composed of primarily Viognier (can I get a heck yes for Virginia Viognier?!), it’s perfect for sipping on the patio.  I’m hoping to make it to Charlottesville soon to see what other vintages this is lying around in, and maybe grab a few bottles for a rainy, forgetful day.  I’d recommend that you do the same.

photo-4

Let’s Chat!
When was the last time you met Dave Matthews?  Or anyone famous?
To my Virginians out there, seriously, can I get a heck yes for Viognier?!  Please?

11 thoughts on “Wine Wednesday – Blenheim Vineyards Painted White 2009

  1. Well, I last met Dave Matthews when you did….and I think that was my last favorite person.

    I am totally jealous of your ability to get any Blenheim wine… And that you’re drinking a painted anything. I’m glad you’re drinking white wine, we switched to red tonight!

    Can’t wait to enjoy wine at your little oasis! Enjoy!!!!! 🍷🍷🍷🍷🍷

  2. So that’s the other winery he owns. I actually just learned last week that he owned winery in VA – I thought Dreaming Tree was his only wine. Good to know! I will have to look for Blenheim.

  3. No, never met Dave Matthews or anyone famous for that matter. However, hailing from Connecticut, I can still give you “heck yes” for Virginia Viognier – I had a few bottles and they were delicious… Can’t find Virginia wine here, unfortunately…

  4. Pingback: Wine Wednesday – Blenheim Vineyards Painted White 2009 | She … | Which Wine Is Sweet

  5. I’ve never met Dave Matthews… Would love to! And the last time I met someone famous….never (or I guess if I have I don’t remember so it probably wasn’t that good!) I guess I need to put that on my bucket list… Sip wine with someone famous! 😉

  6. Dang, Kim, somehow my reader must have dropped you (it seems like the two month trip I took disrupted a lot), so I am glad I “re-found” you just now….I have been trying some Viognier in Thailand (grown there, too), and was pretty impressed. Need to look into that grape more.

  7. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  8. Amazing things here. I’m very happy to peer your article. Thank you a lot and I’m taking a look forward to
    contact you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

Let's chat!

