Wine Wednesday – Cupcake Pinot Grigio

Say what?!  Let me explain.  If you know me, you know that I looooove me some cupcakes.  And most of them time I even like Cupcake brand wine.  And sometimes, when the timing is right, I’ll choose a chilled glass of white wine.  But what I never, ever in a million years choose to pour myself is a Pinot Grigio.  I can’t quite put my finger on the why, but I’m pretty sure it has something to do with the tartness.  I want my white wine to be sweet, just like me.  And Pinot doesn’t do it for me.

The last time I drank Pinot Grigio was at Jenny’s wedding reception.  I played a game all night, making sure I lived up to my MOH duties, and alternated Jenny’s glasses of wine with glasses of water.  Because I’m thoughtful.  But you know what?  She ended up riding a mechanical bull in her wedding dress, regardless.

The game I played went like this… ‘Jenny prefers white wine.  She’s wearing a white dress.  Neither she nor I should spill red wine on her white dress.  Bartender, could I please have a glass of Chardonnay and a glass of Pinot Grigio?’  Then I’d find her, offer her both, and pray that she took both.  So that I could go grab a Merlot in secret.  But she never caught on.  So, when she took the Chardonnay, I took the Pinot.  And vice versa.  And neither one of us spilled a drop (to my knowledge).  We did, however, drink our fair share of the available whites.

I didn’t hate it, and I’m glad I didn’t risk the Merlot stain.  Because right before the ceremony, I broke the head off of one of her flowers in the bouquet.  And two wrongs don’t make an MOH right.

So even though I didn’t hate it, Pinot Grigio just normally isn’t my wine of choice.  But when I opened the refrigerator to grab the brown butter chocolate chip cookie dough that was patiently awaiting its Nutella filling and a warm toasty oven, I spied this little fella in the waaaaayyyy back of the fridge.

photo-2

I don’t even know where it came from.  I’m assuming someone left it at the old house, it got packed up in a cooler, and moved into the new house with us without my noticing.  Which is weird, because 1) nothing escapes my notice in the new house and 2) wine doesn’t normally pass my eyes without exciting some neurons in my memory making brain.

But once I spotted the bottle, that good old memory maker sparked up and said “brown butter! pinot grigio! omg yes yes do that, do that!  plllleeeeaaaasssse do that, do that!”  So I listened.  And that’s how I happened to be standing in the kitchen, sipping Cupcake Pinot Grigio, and eating spoonfuls of brown butter chocolate chip cookie dough.  Eventually, I’ll make it to preheating the oven and stuffing the cookies, but for now…

A pretty little wine pairing with just a bit of indulgence.

Cupcake Pinot Grigio 🍷🍷🍷

Happy Wine Wednesday!  Cheers!

WineWednesday1_zps854998e5

4 thoughts on “Wine Wednesday – Cupcake Pinot Grigio

  1. This is too funny.

    I have an answer for you – I think this is one of the wine’s I brought? Or maybe I am thinking of the Angel Food Cake wine that also made it’s way to my wedding?

    Either way – you could have very easily just have kept feeding me white wine and gotten your red. Frankly, I was surprised that you were drinking whites. However, you were an amazing MOH – and you need to let the flower thing go, I frankly didn’t even remember that until you said it.

    And you have my address, if you could Fedex the cookies to me, that’d be phenom. 🙂

    • I’ll totally FedEx them, considering our other comment string on USPS. The ones stuffed with Nutella did not turn out as expected… they taste amazing but look horrible. The unstuffed cookies are perfect. I may or may not be bribing my students with them tomorrow on the last day of class…

    • Woohoo! Glad to have found someone with a similar palate… it seems like everyone around me goes nuts for Pinot Grigio and I’m just sort of like, ‘ummm maybe later’ haha. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Let's chat!

