July Foodie Penpals Reveal

I took a brief hiatus from Foodie Penpals this spring and summer because I was just a little bit busy.  With defending my dissertation, getting married, moving (twice), starting my new job and all that good stuff, I decided it wasn’t fair to my penpals if I wasn’t totally invested in making sure they got a great package.

But I decided to take the plunge and sign up again for July.  And I’m so glad that I did!  For the first time ever, I was paired up with 2 other bloggers!  I received my awesome package from Carlisa at Something Infinitely Interesting.  And bless her heart, was she sweet!  I’ll admit that the US Postal System and I aren’t besties.  Remember that time I almost went to jail?  Well, that wasn’t the first (or last, I’m sure) that me and the post office had some beef with each other.

Carlisa mailed my goodie box on a Thursday, and we both figured it would arrive safe and sound to my house by Saturday.  Well, Saturday came and went, with no tasty treats.  And then, the NEXT Saturday came and went… nothing.  We were both ready to give up on the package arriving on time, and we were both super bummed.  Carlisa was so nice that she offered to send a brand new package if the first one didn’t make it by Tuesday, July 30.

Apparently the USPS has my email bugged, because lo and behold, the threat (well, it was actually just a really nice offer) must have been heard and the original (and totally awesome) foodie penpals package arrived just yesterday!  10 days late, but no biggie, right?  Hmm.

Anyway – enough of the storytelling – you didn’t click this post to hear about my gripes with the post office.  And if you did, heck yes, you can stay.

Carlisa is a clean eater and I try to eat clean – so this was a great pairing for me!  She sent a box full of good-for-you goodies.  Sadly, I haven’t had the chance to try any of them yet, but I know that they’ll be gone soon enough!  πŸ˜‰

She included quinoa (which I need to learn to love…), roasted edamame (yes!), dried banana and apple chips (for a healthy treat), a huge bottle of agave nectar, two types of her favorite tea, and the item that I’m most excited about, Napa Valley Meritage Seasoning Blend.  A seasoning blend named after one of my favorite types of wine?  Okay, you got my attention.  The seasoning blend can be used on anything – pork, chicken, veggies – whatever!  I am so excited to try this and know that I’ll love it.

photo-1

Thanks, Carlisa!  I was so glad to be paired with you for my fresh start into Foodie Penpals!  πŸ™‚

I got to send a package to Jillian at Her Split Ends – click on over to her Reveal Day post to see what I sent!


Want to learn more about Foodie Penpals and the Lean Green Bean?  Click the button below!  The details are simple – sign up, get paired, send a box full of your favorite or local items, get a box of someone else’s faves, make new friends, and try new foods!  What could be better?!

The Lean Green Bean
12 thoughts on “July Foodie Penpals Reveal

      • I’ve been trying to think of a better way to send things…. I sent some cards 10 days ago and they have yet to arrive at people’s houses. Not happy about it. (and no, sorry, it wasn’t to you this time!!!!) πŸ™‚

        • Haha no need to apologize. I can’t figure it out… my only thought at this point is that if it’s an important package, save the tracking number and consider a signature confirmation. So sad that it’s come to this, expecting that your mail won’t arrive on time/ever. 😦

  1. You’ve inspired me to rejoin the Foodie Pen Pal program, as I too, have been absent from the experience! Busy, but nearly as full of exciting life events as you’ve been experiencing! Thanks for the post about the program!

    • Jude – so glad you’ve rejoined the program! The more the merrier, for sure. Hope things slow down a bit for you so you can enjoy the last few weeks of summer. I can’t wait to see the goodies you get in August! πŸ™‚

Let's chat!

