I saw the light! Plus, it’s Wine Wednesday!

Oh, hi! It’s been a few days weeks since we’ve had a chance to chat. And I am not ashamed to admit that I missed each and every one of you and the whole blogging community. I have a lot of reading to do to catch up on what’s been going on in your lives, but before I do that, I wanted to give you an update on what I’ve been up to. The good, the bad, the happy, and the sad.

My last post was on March 12. At the end of that post, I mentioned that I needed a break from blogging to focus on my dissertation. And focus I did. I’m still not sure I’m fully recovered from the weeks of reading, writing, stressing, crying, yelling, and waking up in the middle of the night in a state of panic.

But none of that matters anymore because I did it! I successfully defended my doctoral dissertation on Friday, March 29. Which was one of the best and worst days of my life. I’m far from done with the written documents, but they’re a work in progress and I have a few weeks to tie up the loose ends. Hallelujah! I think my friends and family all breathed a collective sigh of relief to know that it was over and I passed, because the not-so-sweet side of me has been put to rest until my next stressful life event crops up.

So this means that on May 18, just 1 short week after getting married, I’ll don my wizard cape and funny hat, attend a long and sweaty ceremony, and make people call me Doctor for a good 3-4 days. Thanks to all of you who wished me luck and helped me stay positive. You’re the bestest.

In the background of the D word, was loss and mourning, followed by a quickly pulled together move. And then a surprise visit from my sneakily awesome parents and a couple’s shower with friends and family. I’m writing this post from the comfort of our new kitchen in Blair’s parent’s house. They are gracious enough to let us live here for the next few months while we get the old house ready to rent and search for a new home in our new city. So chaos doesn’t quite come close to defining the past 3 weeks.

But everything happens for a reason, and everything works out in the end. Right?

The dogs are settling in just fine, in case you were curious…

20130403-180123.jpg

Thanks for listening to me ramble. Like I mentioned in the title, it’s Wine Wednesday. And I’m back! With a 2009 Two Vines Merlot-Cabernet that I like but don’t love. It might have something to do with the fact that it’s a few days old. But it’s open and I’m not letting it go to waste!

20130403-180155.jpg

Cheers! 🙂
What are you drinking tonight?

20 thoughts on “I saw the light! Plus, it’s Wine Wednesday!

  1. I’ve been reading quietly since I found your blog through the Crock Pot Challenge. Congratulations on successfully defending your dissertation! That’s not an easy thing to go through. You should be so proud of yourself.

    • Thank you, Laura! I really appreciate your kind words. More importantly, I’m so glad you’ve seen some of my crock pot recipes – I’m making the chicken & black bean tacos for dinner tonight. Yum! Thanks for stopping by and saying hi! 🙂

    • Thank you, Kendra! I grew up on a dairy farm, so I approve of your glass of milk. But I do hope you switched to something more fun afterward! 🙂

    • Thank you! We have a few bottles of Barboursville Octagon lined up for the celebration! I can’t wait. No plume… but a very fancy “hood” that looks like a cape. I’m excited to post pictures of the completely ridiculous outfit haha. 🙂

  2. I think, in the course of like 3 months you are covering EVERY possible stressful that could ever happen in your life; defending you dissertation, marriage, moving, starting a new job. After you and Blair get through all of this together, the rest of your lives will probably seem like a fairy tale. Can’t wait to see you in a month.

    PS-LOVE the picture of the pups, it looks like they have a strenuous life.

    • I know. I’m officially potentially a crazy person. But you’re right – if we can get through these next few months, the rest of life will be a breeze! We are so excited to see you too!

      And the dogs are pitiful. That was completely unstaged. They just love each other, and Gia is a very good pillow. 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh… totally agree with Lisa – the pic of the pups is hysterical. What a way to sum up the last few weeks! so so so so so proud of you and excited that you’ve survived the last few weeks! 🙂 GOOD JOB!

    • Thank you, Jenny! 🙂 You were instrumental in this whole process. I’m so lucky to have a friend like you. Who else would listen to me have a mental breakdown in the parking garage?!

    • Thank you, Danielle! I can’t believe I’m finally almost finished… I still feel like we’re masters students trying to finish that tough year. How time flies!

Let's chat!

