February Foodie Penpals Reveal Day

Have I told you how much I love the Foodie Penpals program that Lindsay at the Lean Green Bean hosts each month? Well, if you’re new here, let me tell you. I love it.

This month, my awesome penal was Laurie M, and she nailed it. I always feel the need to apologize to my penpals because I have a terrible sweet tooth, so their packages are always overloaded with sweets & treats. So imagine my absolute delight when Laurie sent me a package overloaded with sweets & treats!

photo-1

Look at all of those sugary yums! You better believe the first thing I opened was the Reese’s chocolate peanut butter topping (I had to test it out on something, and conveniently, there was a tub of Moose Tracks ice cream in the freezer…). It is so good! Chocolate and peanut butter are some of my favorite things, and this topping didn’t disappoint. I don’t know if I’ll buy it for myself, because although I haven’t checked the nutrition information, I’m pretty sure I know what it’ll say.

Blair and I have both been snacking on the Nips caramels all week. They’re only 30 calories and last for like 20 minutes, so they’re a nice dose of sweet without all of the guilt. Blair said his grandma used to have a stash of these, so they made me feel a little bit nostalgic for him. šŸ™‚

I love the Nutella snacks, and will keep the snack box in my desk for a weak moment. I’ve been showing real self-control and haven’t opened the Reese’s or Rolo minis, but something tells me they’ll be gone reallllly quickly.

The savory items include Coach Tony’s BBQ sauce and mild salsa from her local farmer’s market. And some roasted tomato skillet sauce, too! We haven’t opened these items yet, but I’ve never been known to say no to BBQ or salsa. Blair is excited to try the skillet sauce, because it’s something I would never buy. And that’s why I love Foodie Penpals. You get some old faithful favorites and some new things to try that could easily become old faithfuls.

My first ever penpal sent me 2 items that I have continued to purchase and love. Toasted Wine Spread and Daddy Hinkle’s Steak Marinade. We rave over this stuff!

Thank you so much, Laurie! You’re awesome and so sweet! šŸ™‚

Interested in learning more about Foodie Penpals? Click on over to The Lean Green Bean to learn more.

12 thoughts on “February Foodie Penpals Reveal Day

  1. Pingback: February Foodie Pen Pal Reveal Day | Good For the Soul

    • I totally lucked out, but you won’t catch me complaining! I am so proud of myself for not devouring all of it in one sitting. But just because it hasn’t happened yet doesn’t mean that it won’t… šŸ™‚

    • Ohhh yum… I never even considered using the Reese’s minis for baking. My intention was to pour them into a bowl and eat them like popcorn. But baking with them seems like the more responsible choice!

    • You should totally let your curiosity get the best of you and sign up for March! The deadline is March 4th, and all details can be found at The Lean Green Bean (link above). It is so much fun!

  2. Kim, thanks so much for posting on my blog–although I still have a lot of learning and a lot of work to do on it! I was inspired by your participation in The Lean Green Beans foodie pen pal! I’m so excited to try it out~thanks for posting about it!

Let's chat!

