Single-Serving Chocolate Peanut Butter Mug Cake

I have a very deep and meaningful love for all things mini. Mini cupcakes, mini sandwiches, mini appetizers, mini desserts, mini skirts. Wait, no. Let’s stick to food and things that are potentially flattering and appropriate.

I’m also a huge fan of instant gratification. The faster the good stuff happens, the better. Good things come to those with a microwave, not those who wait, in this case at least.

Cue chocolate peanut butter mug cake. It’s healthy, it’s chocolatey, it’s ooey gooey, and it’s easy!

Remember last week when I professed my love for PB2? Well, that was a healthy breakfast recipe. And since I’m all a out diversity over here, I had to try out a healthy dessert recipe, too!

A quick Google search led me to Back to Her Roots, the genius behind this yummy dessert. Perfect for those days when you realllllly want cake, but realize that you need to fit into a wedding dress in less than 90 days. Wait, what?! Portion control, chocolate satisfaction, endlessly customizable. Yes, please!

20130222-210614.jpg


Single-Serving Chocolate Peanut Butter Mug Cake
Yield 1 mini cake. Adapted from Back to Her Roots.

– 2 tablespoons powdered peanut butter (PB2)
– 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
– 1 tablespoon self-rising flour
– 1 tablespoon brown sugar, packed
– 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
– 1 teaspoon baking powder
– 1/4 teaspoon salt
– 3 tablespoons liquid egg whites
– 1 tablespoon water

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Pour into a microwave safe mug or shallow ramekin.

Get to know your microwave. Ours takes 1 minute and 15 seconds on 70% power. Yours could take anywhere from 30 seconds to 2 minutes. I can’t help here. My best advice is aim low. Start with 45 seconds, and increase the time in short increments until the cake has risen to the top of the mug. If you want it gooey, stop. If you want it well done, give it another 15 seconds. The power is yours.

Top with whipped cream, cinnamon, chocolate sauce, peanut butter, anything. This is your mini cake, girl. Enjoy it. πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Single-Serving Chocolate Peanut Butter Mug Cake

  1. Instant gratification, party of two! I make 5-minute mug cakes a lot as quick desserts and LOVE them πŸ™‚ I’ve never tried it with peanut butter…I don’t have any powder kind, I wonder if a regular scoop would work. Hmmm…that might be an interesting experiment for later haha

    • I’m sure a regular scoop of PB would work just fine! It might be a little bit thicker, but I can’t imagine it would affect the taste at all. If you try it, let me know how it turns out!

Let's chat!

