Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins

*Updated (for chocoholics)

I’m a sucker for quick and easy make-ahead breakfast items. Mostly because I’m always trying to get Blair to eat breakfast, and also because I’m sort of lazy. I also needed to use some verrrrry ripe bananas and am currently obsessed with PB2 (with chocolate!), so a star was born in the kitchen this morning.

Last night, Blair and I checked out Wine Loft Richmond for date night, and to do some research for our rehearsal dinner. It was a smashing success – amazing atmosphere, great wine, and fantastic food.

This morning, we slept in (until 8:30am!) and made some yummy greek yogurt pancakes (recipe coming soon!) Blair had to run some errands, so after doing a quick cleanup of the house, I got to Googling. Like I said, I had some verrrry ripe bananas that needed used ASAP. I found a super easy recipe for oatmeal banana breakfast muffins from C&E that is endlessly adaptable and whips up in a jiffy.

The original recipe that these can be frozen and reheated to make them last longer and still taste great. C&E topped some of their muffins with Nutella. Yum!

20130217-133048.jpg

20130217-133108.jpg


Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins
Yield 18 muffins. Adapted from C&E.

– 3 very ripe bananas
– 1 cup fat free greek yogurt
– 2 eggs
– 1/2 cup Splenda
– 1/4 cup sugar
– 2 tablespoons powdered peanut butter (PB2)
*1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder (optional)
– 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
– 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
– 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
– 2 1/2 cups old fashioned oats

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line muffin tin with foil liners. Place all ingredients (except oats) in a blender or food processor and blend until combined. Add oats, 1 cup at a time, until the mixture is smooth. Pour 1/4 cup of batter into each muffin well. Bake for 15-17 minutes, or until lightly browned, and a toothpick comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack. Reheat in microwave before enjoying. Yum!

I’ve been making these weekly for about a month for a quick breakfast treat! The past few weeks I’ve added 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder to the mix for a breakfast shot of chocolate. They’re even better now! 🙂

Do you have a quick and easy breakfast recipe to share?
Blair loves these savory sundried tomato and cottage cheese muffins.

12 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins

  1. These sound amazing! I think the only thing that would make them even better is chocolate chips! Peanut butter & banana anything is right up my alley 🙂

    • I’ve never used peanut flour before… does it taste peanut-y? That’s the only reason I added PB2! I’m sure you could leave it out completely, replace with real peanut butter, or try peanut flour. If you try replacing PB2 it, let me know how the muffins turn out!

  2. Pingback: Single-Serving Chocolate Peanut Butter Mug Cake | She Wines Sometimes

  3. Hi there. The current Food on Friday on Carole’s Chatter is collecting links to posts about breakfast dishes. I do hope you link this in. This is the link . Please do check out some of the other links – there are a lot of good ones already. Cheers

  4. Kim, thanks for joining the link up for Food on Friday on Carole’s Chatter. I hope you enjoyed looking at some of the other links. I have been reading them all and am blown away by all the great ideas! Cheers

    Ps I am signing up to follow your blog. A follow back would be great – or maybe you have already?

    Pps If you would like email reminders of future Food on Fridays, just let me know your email address. It will be kept private.

Let's chat!

