Trader Joe’s Viñas Chilenas Reserva Merlot 2012

Happy Valentine’s Day! While I don’t buy into Hallmark Holidays (Sweetest Day, anyone?), I’m not a bitter VDay hating lady. You do your thing, I’ll do mine.

I had to work late tonight, and we’re not big on celebrating today (we love each other every day), so we treated it like any other day. We had leftover crock pot pulled chicken on homemade bread and caught up on some of our favorite shows.

And of course, I had to open a bottle on wine. Okay, that’s sort of a lie. I finished the bottle that I opened last night. Ever have one of those nights where you’re so exhausted that wine makes you almost pass out, but you manage to stay awake just until you brush your teeth? That was my night.

20130214-211420.jpg

Trader Joe’s Viñas Chilenas Reserva Merlot 2012 $3.99 🍷🍷

A delicious wine with hints of black fruit and chocolate. This well made Merlot is ripe and soft with a lingering finish; goes very well with light meat dishes as well as all by itself.

This Merlot was decent on day 1. After it had a chance to breathe, it smelled of cherries and berries. It was much better on day 2. Still a similar nose, but it softened up quite a bit and tasted less cheap cost effective. It’s mildly dry, with very soft tannins. It’s easier to drink after a few glasses, or after a day of breathing.

Blair wasn’t a fan on either day. It’s not a wine drinker’s wine. And that means the past 3 TJ’s wines that I’ve reviewed have been relative flops. But I’m not giving up hope. I’m convinced we can find a few reasonably priced bottles to keep as a day to day stash and to serve at the wedding. Cheers to next time! I might choose a real bottle of red just to perk me up a bit.

Check out my Reviews page for more quick reviews and an explanation of my rating system.

And don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a $200 Tiffany and Co. gift card!

4 thoughts on “Trader Joe’s Viñas Chilenas Reserva Merlot 2012

  1. Pingback: Trader Joe’s Coastal Merlot 2009 | She Wines Sometimes

  2. Sorry, not a fan of Trader Joe’s ( you see my post “Why I Hate TJ’s?)

    Anyway, if you’re looking for a <$5 have you tried Black Box? Yup, it's boxed wine. We get it in summer because we can't bring glass bottles on the pool deck. It's around $20, but you get the equivalent of 4 bottles. The Cali Cab is pretty good as is their Monterey Cty Chard and New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. With the way it's packaged, it's drinkable for at least week after opening. Not that we have any problem polishing one off way before then…

Let's chat!

