The Best Bread Ever – 2 Ways (Dutch Oven and Crock Pot)

If you’re reading this right now, your life is about to change in quite possibly the best way ever. And I can take zero credit for it. I’m just sharing the wealth.

One of my favorite bloggers at Love Beer Love Food shared a recipe for Magazine Worthy Bread, which in my mind is now simply referred to as the Best Bread Ever. For more recipes and all things beer (she home brews!), click on over to her blog and stay awhile.

There are 2 things that make this the Best Bread Ever. 1. It is so crazy easy to make. 2. It tastes like magic. Please trust me, if you’re intimidated by bread, follow this recipe, take a deep breath, and prepare to be wowed. I seriously don’t think you can mess it up. It’s a yeast+beer bread, so it will rise perfectly. And you don’t really need to knead it at all. Just smush it into a ball. It’s foolproof, y’all.

I’ve made 2 loaves in 1 week, and currently have 2 more loaves rising in the kitchen. Yesterday’s bread was inhaled in less than 1 hour with some bruschetta, wine, and friends.

Version 1 was made in a Dutch oven, just like the recipe at LBLF. Version 2 was made in the crock pot, as a part of Peanut Butter Fingers Crock Pot Challenge.

As you can see, the Dutch oven version is perfectly round and has a gorgeous crust. The crock pot version is a little less visually appealing, but a few minutes under the broiler gave the crust some crunch. Both loaves tasted identical and were equally as simple to make, so I can’t really recommend one over the other. Go with what you know (or the equipment that you have). You won’t be disappointed.

20130210-131127.jpg

20130210-131144.jpg


The Best Bread Ever
Yield 1 round loaf. Very slightly adapted from Love Beer Love Food.

– 3 cups King Arthur bread flour
– 2 tablespoons flax meal
– 1/4 teaspoon yeast
– 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
– 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons warm water
– 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
– 6 tablespoons beer (Miller Light and Yuengling have worked well for me)

Combine flour, flax meal, yeast, and salt in a large bowl, stir to combine. In a large measuring cup, combine warm water, apple cider vinegar, and beer. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients, stir until combined. Cover with a clean towel and let sit overnight.

On a lightly floured surface, knead dough a few times (seriously, it doesn’t take much) and form into a ball. Place ball on a large piece of lightly oiled parchment paper and cover with plastic wrap. Let the dough rise for 2 hours in a nice warm spot.

When risen, lightly flour the surface of the bread and cut a shallow slit across the top with a floured serrated knife.

Dutch Oven Instructions
About 30 minutes before baking, preheat oven to 500 degrees F. Place Dutch oven and lid in oven to preheat as well. Once heated, removed Dutch oven from oven, place bread dough (still on parchment paper) in the Dutch oven, replace lid, and put the whole thing back in the oven. Reduce heat to 425 degrees F. Bake for 30 minutes with the lid on, and another 25 minutes with the lid off. The bread should have a beautifully browned firm crust and register an internal temperature of 210 degrees F when fully baked. Cool completely on a wire rack. Slice, enjoy, sigh.

Crock Pot Instructions
About 30 minutes before baking, preheat crock pot on high with the lid on. Once heated, place bread (still on parchment paper) in the crock pot and cover. Bake for 1 to 1 1/2 hours (depending on your crock pot). This loaf took about 1 hour and 15 minutes on high. Once baked through with a firm crust and an internal temperature of 210 degrees F, remove from crock pot and place under the broiler (on high) for about 5 minutes, or until the crust is browned to your satisfaction. Cool completely on a wire rack. Oohs and ahhs to follow.

Have you ever made bread in a crock pot? Do you have a favorite bread recipe to share?

Want more crock pot recipes?  Check out my Crock Pot Challenge wrap up – 9 easy and delicious slow cooker recipes!

Like what you’ve seen? Prove it! πŸ™‚
 photo mail_zpsffddb550.png photo facebook_zps54943253.png photo facebook_zps54943253.png photo facebook_zps54943253.png photo mail_zpsffddb550.png photo mail_zpsffddb550.png

43 thoughts on “The Best Bread Ever – 2 Ways (Dutch Oven and Crock Pot)

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge – Beef Brasato | She Wines Sometimes

  2. Ah! Those loaves look SO good. My husband brews his own beer, so this would be perfect to make when his next batch is ready.

    • Fun! I’m sure home brewed beer would make the bread extra special. We use the cheap stuff that our friends leave behind. I think I’d be in big trouble if I tried to use the fancy beer in the bread! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Definitely trying this. Baking bread is not what I am good at, but since I am opening a wine bar, I should probably be prepared to make a home made bruschetta. Thanks for sharing!!! (And I think it is awesome how you encouraged people to pop over and check out “love beer, love food” blog!)

  4. wow! That sounds super easy, just wow. So, what is the function of flax meal? Can it be replaced with something or skipped altogether?

    • It is awesome news! This was the first time I’ve used the crock pot for bread and it was just as easy (actually, easier) than traditional bread baking! If you can look past the imperfect shape, it’s perfect bread!

  5. OK, I just finished making this, and it’s absolutely the most delicious bread I’ve ever made. The crust (Dutch oven method) is divine. My kitchen smells fantastic, and I have the most delicious bread ever. Only one problem with the instructions – waiting until the bread is completely cool before devouring!

    • Yum! I can’t wait to get a little adventurous once I can get my hands on some fresh herbs. The old grocery store herbs just don’t do it for me this time of year 😦

  6. Kim, question, if I may. I made a few mistakes with the recipe (well, at least one for sure – I used regular King Arthur flour, not the bread one). The resulting loaf looks very good (I didn’t try it yet), but it is kind of small – it is only about 6 inches in diameter – is that the size I was supposed to get to? Somehow bread in your picture looks pretty big…

    • All of my bread has been 9-10 inches in diameter. I’m definitely not an expert, but I do know that any time I’ve tried to make bread without bread flour (or adding wheat gluten) my loaves didn’t rise well and ended up small and dense. The only other things I can think that may gone wrong would be old yeast, a too cool oven, or not enough rise time. I would just try again and keep my fingers crossed! But, even if it’s a smaller loaf, I’m sure it tastes great!

      • So I think the flour was a culprit. But – it tasted perfectly! I will do it again tomorrow πŸ™‚ Pictures will be coming in the Valentine’s dinner post( at some point) . Thank you very much!

  7. Pingback: Trader Joe’s ViΓ±as Chilenas Reserva Merlot 2012 | She Wines Sometimes

  8. Pingback: Crockpot Challenge #6: Grandmother Bread « it's sweet for certain

  9. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge – Black Bean Soup (AKA Detox Soup) | She Wines Sometimes

  10. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge – Turkey Meatballs with Tomato Sauce | She Wines Sometimes

  11. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge Recap – 9 Easy and Delicious Slow Cooker Recipes | She Wines Sometimes

  12. Pingback: Bread and Amarone | Talk-A-Vino

  13. Hi, Kim, the bread looks nice. Δ° also make bread occasionally. After a couple of failed attempts, Δ° succeeded without an Dutch oven. Δ° simply let it rise longer and baked in a quiche pan preheated at the blazing temperature. Δ° hope to see more of your bread making. Cheers.

    • Thank you! I’ve also had quite a few failed attempts at bread. It seems like baking in a super hot oven in a preheated pan does the trick most of the time! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  14. I read about this bread over at talk-a-vino’s blog this morning, and it looks soooo good! Good enough that I made the trek to the grocery store on Snowquestration Eve (with all the panicky people) to pick up King Arthur’s bread flour and flax meal. Tomorrow, while we’re snowed in . . . my house will smell like fresh baked bread. At least that’s my plan . . . Salud!

    • I can’t decide if we’re actually going to have the major snowstorm they are predicting. I’m hoping for a snow day (I’m still a little kid at heart!). I can’t imagine a better way to spend a snow day than to bake bread πŸ™‚ Let me know how it turns out!

  15. Pingback: Snowquestration: Cook for Your Life!! | The Armchair Sommelier

  16. So this may sound stupid, but I have never made any kind of bread before…when it says to let it sit overnight, I’m assuming I’m just leaving it on the counter? It doesn’t have to be refrigerated or left somewhere warm…it can just be left out at room temp?

Let's chat!

