Crock Pot Challenge – Apple Stuffed French Toast

I panicked this weekend because the Crock Pot Challenge is halfway over and I haven’t been keeping up with it! If you’re new, check out Peanut Butter Fingers for more information. It’s not too late to start!

So far, all of my CPC meals have been dinners. So last night, in a state of panic, I Googled crock pot french toast. I found a recipe by Skinny Ms that I was able to follow pretty closely to make quick and yummy Sunday breakfast.

I’ll be the first to say that waking up early is for the birds. I’m up early 5 days a week, and that’s about all I can tolerate. And good, quality, rich, sweet french toast takes time. And effort. And waking up early. So it doesn’t happen very often in our house.

But that’s all changed thanks to my new best friend the crock pot. Seriously. Easiest breakfast ever, aside from maybe poptarts or cold cereal. I did choose to wake up for 90 seconds (at 4:30am) to turn the crock pot on, but I was back to sleep in no time, so it was totally worth it.

We woke up at 8am and were eating soft, sweet, and gooey french toast by 8:15am, and that’s jug because I took the time to use the french press for coffee this morning. I guess breakfast was themed, but please trust me when I tell you that it was totally unintentional.

20130203-185341.jpg

On a totally unrelated note, my official full-time contract for my new job was delivered this weekend! So all I need to do is sign (and pass a background check) (and finish my dissertation) and I’ll be officially employed with my first big girl grown up job as an assistant professor! Say whattttttt?!

Let’s celebrate!


Crock Pot Apple Stuffed French Toast
Serves 4. Slightly adapted from Skinny Ms.

Base
– 3/4 loaf stale or dried Italian or French bread
– 4 eggs
– 1 1/2 cups skim milk
– 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
– 2 tablespoons honey

Apple filling
– 1 apple, chopped
– 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
– 1 teaspoon lemon juice
– 3 tablespoons honey

Lightly spray crock pot with cooking spray. Combine eggs, milk, cinnamon, vanilla, and honey in a medium bowl, whisk together. Slice bread into 1-inch thick slices.

Combine all apple filling ingredients together in a small bowl, stir to coat apples well.

Layer half of the bread in the bottom of the crock pot. Top with all of the apple filling. Cover with remaining pieces of bread.

Pour base evenly over bread and apples in crock pot. Cover and refrigerate overnight. Cook on low 4 hours (final 15 minutes on high, uncovered) or on high ~2 hours. Drizzle with syrup or fresh fruit. Enjoy the easiest breakfast ever! 🙂

You may also like:
Crock Pot French Dip
Crock Pot Pulled Pork
Crock Pot Vegan Chorizo and Sweet Potato Casserole
Crock Pot Vegan White Bean and Kale Stew

Want more crock pot recipes?  Check out my Crock Pot Challenge wrap up – 9 easy and delicious slow cooker recipes!

Like what you’ve seen? Prove it! 🙂
 photo mail_zpsffddb550.png photo facebook_zps54943253.png photo facebook_zps54943253.png photo facebook_zps54943253.png photo mail_zpsffddb550.png photo mail_zpsffddb550.png

7 thoughts on “Crock Pot Challenge – Apple Stuffed French Toast

  1. Pingback: Crockpot Challenge #3- Italian Eggplant Casserole with Cashew-Tofu Ricotta | Good For the Soul

  2. Pingback: The Best Bread Ever – 2 Ways (Dutch Oven and Crock Pot) | She Wines Sometimes

  3. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge Recap – 9 Easy and Delicious Slow Cooker Recipes | She Wines Sometimes

Let's chat!

