Wine Wednesday – Horton Vineyards Sweet Concord

Hello, Wednesday! If there was ever a day that needed to end with a sweet, sweet wine, today very likely qualifies. Not a bad day, but a loooong one. Thankfully, we tasted at Horton Vineyards in Gordonsville, Virginia this weekend and walked away with 2 bottles of Sweet Concord wine that is oh so sippable.

20130130-203322.jpg

I’m a sucker for Concord wine. I’ve had my fair share of it from Troutman Vineyards in Ohio. And to be honest, nothing compares. I don’t know if I’ll ever love another Concord the way that I love their Farmer’s Red. But that’s for another day.

The Sweet Concord from Horton’s is exactly what I expect it to be. Smooth, sweet, and a little delicate on the finish. It’s like sipping Welch’s grape juice. Plus booze. Winning. Nope, wait, sorry. No one says that anymore.

There’s really not much else to say about this wine. If you love Concord wine, you’ll love it. If you don’t like red wine, you’ll love this one. It’s a wine drinkers guilty pleasure and a non-wine drinker’s intro the the world of grapes. And at $12 a bottle, it’s totally reasonable. Also, how cute is the label? And a super unique synthetic red cork. Love it all.

20130130-204113.jpg

Horton Vineyards Sweet Concord 🍷🍷🍷🍷(recommended)

For more wine reviews and an explanation of my rating system, please click on over to my Reviews page.

What are you drinking tonight? Do you love or hate Concord wine?

13 thoughts on “Wine Wednesday – Horton Vineyards Sweet Concord

  1. Wow, I better stay away from this. I find Welch’s grape juice to be one of the worst things ever…I grew up with winemaker’s grape juice which tastes like, grapes. Welch’s to me just tastes like sulphuric gew. Thanks for the warning! 🙂 I am glad you enjoyed it though. There is nothing like an appreciated bottle of wine at the end of a long day.

    • Whew! I’m glad I saved you from that! I definitely think wine drinkers are split on concord – I know quite a few who can’t drink it because it’s so sweet and syrupy. But my non-wine drinking friends can gulp it down so easily. And in the end, if it means more for me, so be it. 🙂

      • That’s the spirit. I always think whatever works and makes people drink wine is fine with me. My father-in-law drinks white zinfandel from the magnum bottle which he stores beside the fridge. He likes it warm…I tease him, but at least he is drinking wine. 🙂

    • i know Dennis Horton and all of his 30 something wines! and i love them all! i may not be a fan of reds unless i am having it with food, but if you ever get to Horton’s winery, you can taste them all. whites, rose’, reds, bubblies, fruits, ports, etc. so i can imagine that this is probably a good wine too. i live in minnesota now so i cant drive down to Gordonsville, VA for a taste anymore. but have you ever had a PB and J and wanted to have a wine to go with it? This probably would make a good choice! oh by the way there is another winery in Virgina that makes a concord grape wine. if memory serves me correctly, its Rockbridge’s Jeramiah’s Bullfrog! tastes just like grape jelly with a kick!

      • We had a great time tasting there a few weekends ago! But we limited ourselves to 10 tastings, so a few return trips are definitely in order. I totally agree that this would be perfect with a good old fashioned PB&J. I’ll keep an eye out for the Rockbridge concord, too. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Nope, not too far at all! It’s near Amish country, so if you’re into that sort of thing, you could make a whole day out of it! You’ll love Troutman’s!

  2. I used to like the wine called Fantasy from Nissley winery in Pennsylvania – it was also made from Concord grapes, may be in semi-sweet style. Didn’t have it in a while and will probably enjoy a glass. But in any case, glad you enjoyed your wine – that is all that matters!

    • I agree, as long as you enjoy what you’re drinking, nothing else matters. I don’t make it to PA very often (or ever) but I’ll be moving a little closer to the state line this fall, so if I venture that way I’ll keep an eye out for the Fantasy. Thanks for the recommendation!

  3. Dennis Horton has a wonderful assortment of wines! i miss living in VA! as i said in a reply comment earlier, this is just what you need to pair with a PB and J!

  4. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this
    in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

Let's chat!

