10 Day Sourdough Starter

Our household is in mourning. Okay, that’s a lie. I am in mourning. The dogs and Blair couldn’t care less, because they’re ridiculous sometimes.

Last week while I was out of town, my 2 year old sourdough starter passed away due to mold overgrowth. I’m not too sure how it happened, seeing that I’ve kept it alive through 3 homes over 2 years. But, every good life comes to an end, and I like to think that she passed peacefully in her sleep next to the peanut butter.

I’m happy to announce the birth of my newest starter on December 2, 2012. She should reach maturity by next week if all goes well. I’ll be the first to admit that my starters have a low survival rate… maybe 50% grow and produce enough to make successful dough, bread, and pizza crust.

But when you get a good one going, OMG y’all, something special happens. I love sourdough more than any bread. Have you ever had sourdough pizza? Please, if you’re reading this, try sourdough pizza. So, here we go.

I’m using the Slice Sourdough Starter instructions because that’s how my last successful starter (RIP) came about. A pretty simple and hands-off 10 day process that uses just flour and water to make magic.

Yesterday was Day 1. All I had to do was combine 1/2 ounce of flour and 1 1/2 ounces of water, stir, cover, and wish for best. Today was Day 2, and I’ve just been stirring the mix when I think about it. See? I told you it was easy.

20121203-203146.jpg

This process continues until there is a 50/50 mix of flour and water. Some bacteria arrive on the scene, some yeast grows and eats the bacteria, and that creates the sourness. And helps you get crusty, holey bread. Mmmm.

As the process continues, I’ll keep you updated. How cool would it be if you followed along and made your own starter? I swear, even though there are little hiccups every once in awhile, this is worth it and generally super easy. And if you don’t want to make bread once the starter is active and happy, you just hide it in the back of the fridge and forget about it until you want to use it!

It’s like a pet that hibernates. And then you eat it.

Do you love sourdough bread?
Do you have an awesome starter that you cherish?
Will you try making a starter?

9 thoughts on “10 Day Sourdough Starter

  1. wait – so you started this from the beginning and it survived over 2 years? It didn’t get moldy in 2 years? I don’t know what to think about this.

    Also – my favorite part about this entire post is that you can see the scale under the bowl. This is what I like about you. 🙂

    • I agree with Jenny… 2 years old flour and water mix? Sounds moldy haha I need to do some research into this because I’ve never even considered making my own sourdough

      • You 2 are funny! Nope, it never molds unless something goes terribly wrong (like you leave it in sunlight and forget to feed it for more than a week). The good bacteria and yeast eat all of the bad bacteria and the mold stays away! Danielle, you should definitely check out the Slice website above and consider it!

  2. Kim, you always keep me smiling! Love your sense of humor….R.I.P. old starter.
    I’m drinking a glass of wine to the “new starter”!

    • Yum! I’ll admit, your bread is much more attractive than mine! I can’t wait to try that recipe – it looks incredible and beautiful! Thanks for stopping by!

Let's chat!

