Amazing Melting Lemon Ginger Cookies [Recipe]

As I’ve written many times before, I’ve been participating in a super fun foodie group called Foodie Penpals. I originally thought that I would love the program because I’d get a fun package full of yumminess from a complete stranger once a month. But I recently realized another reason to love the program!

Not only do I get a yummy package once a month, but I also have to step outside of my comfort zone once a month and try to find foods that my penpal will love. So far, I’ve made vegan treats, gluten-free treats, and now a paleo treat! And I’m learning that these foods are just as fun and yummy as regular treats!

This month, I decided to try a lemon ginger cookie from The CaveGirl Dish, which I discovered through a quick Google search. Although I’m not sure this recipe counts as 100% paleo (since I’m not an expert), I can be sure that these cookies are fan-freaking-tastic. Truthfully, I’ve never met a cookie that I didn’t like. But both Blair and I (and his parents, and hopefully my most recent penpal) are super duper in love with these cookies.

They come together very quickly, use just a few ingredients, bake up soft and golden brown, and melt in your mouth. Mmmm.

So if you’re looking for a new addition to your cookie repertoire, why don’t you give these little nuggets a try? If you trust me, make a double batch. Otherwise, you’ll be kicking yourself after your first buttery, melty, lemony bite.

20121121-104734.jpg


Lemon Ginger Cookies
Yield 20 cookies. Adapted from The CaveGirl Dish.

– 1 1/2 cups almond flour
– 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
– 1/4 teaspoon salt
– 8 tablespoons butter, room temperature
– 1/2 cup cane sugar crystals
– 1 egg
– 1 1/2 tablespoons lemon zest
– 2 tablespoons candied ginger, chopped

Preheat oven to 350F. In a small bowl, whisk together almond flour, baking powder, and salt. In a second small bowl, beat butter and sugar crystals with an electric mixer until fluffy. Beat in egg and lemon zest. Fold butter mixture into almond flour mixture. Gently fold in candied ginger.

Use a tablespoon to scoop and drop batter onto a lined (silpat or parchment paper) baking sheet. Bake 10-15 minutes or until cookies are soft set and golden brown around the edges. Let cool on baking sheet, or sample 1 or 2 cookies while still warm.

I bet you wish you doubled the recipe…


Share your thoughts!
What is your favorite type of cookie? Do you prefer seasonal cookies or do you have a year-round go-to recipe?

4 thoughts on “Amazing Melting Lemon Ginger Cookies [Recipe]

  1. Pingback: Fudgy Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies [Recipe] | She Wines Sometimes

  2. Pingback: The Winner Of A Lot On Your Plate's Online Bake-off And Giveaway!

Let's chat!

