Catching Up

Oh, hi! I’ve been absent for a few days, but am hoping to begin regular posts again soon. If for no other reason, so that my mom can keep tabs on me. Hi, mom! 🙂

I have about 10 different excuses for not checking in on my blog lately. Mostly, I’m trying to be a productive adult. And it’s weirdly time consuming. But it’s also full of fun and love and wine!

Here’s a list of the things I’ve been working on that have prevented me from connecting with the internet (and my running shoes):

– I started data collection on my dissertation this month
…which means that I’m trying to finish a PhD and graduate in the spring
– I’m applying for grown-up jobs
… which means that I’m interviewing(!) for grown-up jobs
– I’m getting married!
… which means I’m actively controlling my Pinterest addiction

One of my students told me that I seem frazzled and scatterbrained lately. And I completely agree.

The next day, this student noted that in a very short period of time, my entire life changed. And it’s still changing. In the best way I could imagine.

I’m pretty sure I should be stressed to the max right now. But most days, even though I’m behind on most of my tasks, I feel calm and confident. I know that I will finish this degree, I will get a great job, and I will marry the man of my dreams. And this should all happen before August 2013.

And when I feel like my head is starting to slip under water, I have an amazing set of lifejackets to keep me afloat.

Speaking of, my parents came to visit us last weekend! 🙂 We had a blast! I haven’t seen them since my brother’s wedding in June, so it was such a treat to host them in our neck of the woods for a few days. They drove down to celebrate our engagement and spoil our dogs. All in all, it was a fantastic time full of great food, beer and wine, and lots of laughs.

20121027-195604.jpg

And while I didn’t post anything for Wine Wednesday, Blair and I split a bottle and enjoyed each other’s company. I’ll be back this week!

I’ll leave you with this pitiful image of a dog who wants her mom back… or something like that.

20121027-201117.jpg

3 thoughts on “Catching Up

Let's chat!

