Wine Wednesday – Simply Naked (Merlot)

Oh man. We have so much to catch up on. Let’s chat over a glass bottle of wine!

I’ve fallen behind on all of the fun aspects of life. And that is a bummer. I started a new project at school last week that it sucking up a little more time than I expected, and leaving me a little more tired, too. This means I’ve been slacking. On housework, on blogging, on taking care of myself.

But after a week, and with the help of Wine Wednesday, I think I’m starting to get back on track.

20121017-204858.jpg

Yep. This fixes things. ๐Ÿ˜‰

And, just I case you though this title was a little too provocative, think again sillies. We’re all fully clothed over here. Our wine, on the other hand, is naked as can be. As in, unoaked. And delicious.

We chose a grocery store special this time around to prove that you don’t need direct from a winery wine to have a special treat. I picked up a few bottles for under $10 each on my way home from work, and it only took about 30 minutes to open the first bottle, and 30 minutes to empty the first bottle.

The fate of the second bottle is currently unknown. Wish him luck.

From my understanding, many red wines are oak aged, and that’s what makes them awesome. But just like an unoaked Chardonnay, the flavor is totally different when the goods aren’t exposed to the rich flavor of oak barrels. Simply Naked Unoaked Merlot is so simple and so drinkable. It is crisp, smooth, and fruity. Not too dry, not too sweet. Balanced and yummy. And widely available! We’ve seen Simply Naked at a few grocery stores, and it’s always pretty reasonable for a mass produced, nationwide wine. They also have a Cabernet Sauvignon (what I was hoping to find tonight… it was sold out!) and a white (Chardonnay maybe?).

Long story short, we made the best chicken pot pie ever (recipe coming soon!), inspired by Think Well. Love Well. Dine Well., for dinner and crushed a bottle of wine.

But you know what, we’re allowed to indulge. Because Blair asked me to marry him! Yes, ma’am, you read that right. As of Saturday, I have a fiancรฉ. I promise, the story will come soon. In the meantime, please believe that we are enjoying every single moment of this newfound excitement. We’ve caught up with friends and family, hugged and kissed a trillion times, and just taken time to ourselves to soak it all in.

20121017-212203.jpg

Raise a glass and sip your wine. This week is a perfect example of why a midweek drink is totally appropriate. When life wipes you out, find a reason to have a drink, relax, and celebrate.

20121017-213127.jpg
(Source)

Let’s chat!
What did you drink this week?
Do you love or hate oak aged wines?
Have you transitioned into reds for the season, or are you still hanging on to summer whites?

5 thoughts on “Wine Wednesday – Simply Naked (Merlot)

  1. bahhhhh!!!!!!! I will ABSOLUTELY cheers to that!!!!!!! Happy Wine Wednesday! Your first ENGAGED Wine Wednesday! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m not even answering your questions, this is all I can say for this post.

  2. Pingback: Ruffino Chianti 2011 | She Wines Sometimes

Let's chat!

