Easy Single-Serving Apple Crisp

Last week, I bought some amazing honeycrisp apples at the grocery store. I was thoroughly enjoying the plain apples as an afternoon snack, until we decided to perk them up a bit more.

I was starting to get pumpkined out excited about apples, the forgotten fall fruit. And Blair wanted apple crisp. Who can argue with that? We had the sweetest, juiciest apples just dying to be topped with a sugary crumble and baked to perfection. So that’s exactly what we did.

The problem with dessert in our house is that we eat it. We really eat it. And we’re both trying really hard to eat healthier and be mindful about our food choices. Okay, so that last part only applies to me… I think. I don’t think Blair has ever used the word mindful about anything. But that’s okay. 🙂 Anyway, this problem means that if we use 12 apples to make a large pan of apple crisp, we will eat the large pan of apple crisp in about a week. Er… 2 days.

So, with our newfound mindfulness, we decided to make single-serving apple crisp! It might not be healthy, but at least there’s only enough for 1 serving each. Which is reasonable. Everything in moderation.

And for an on-the-fly dessert that didn’t require much thought, effort, or precision – this apple crisp turned out great! We loved it so much, we made it again this Sunday. When I say there isn’t much precision involved, I mean that the second time around, I didn’t measure the ingredients. If you know me, you know this is blasphemy. I’m growing. Be proud.

20121008-211012.jpg
Here’s the easy-as-pie recipe. Enjoy!

Single-Serving Apple Crisp
Serves 1, easily doubled.

– 1 apple, sliced and cored
– lemon juice
– 2 to 3 tablespoons old-fashioned oats
– 1/2 to 1 tablespoon flour
– 1 tablespoon brown sugar, plus extra for garnish
– 1/2 tablespoon splenda
– 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, plus extra for garnish
– 1/4 teaspoon allspice
– 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
– 1/2 to 1 tablespoon cold butter, cut into small pieces

Preheat oven to 350F. Mix dry ingredients together in a small bowl. Work cold butter into dry ingredients. Slice apple, place in ovenproof ramekin and squirt lightly with lemon juice. Pour crumble topping over the center of the apple. Add additional brown sugar and cinnamon to the top of the crumble. Bake for 20-30 minutes until the apple is soft (or smushy) depending on your liking.

If you like more oats (like I do) or more butter (like I do) or more anything, go for it. I’m pretty sure you can’t mess this recipe up.

For extra indulgence, top with homemade caramel drizzle. Yum! 😉

3 thoughts on “Easy Single-Serving Apple Crisp

    • I know! I was mostly feeling lazy and didn’t want to reach for the measuring spoons.

      I doubt that will ever happen again. But I’m totally making this dessert again! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Still MORE Coffee Cup Recipes! « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

Let's chat!

