Wine Wednesday – Blenheim Vineyards Painted Red

Did you buckle up? No? Good. Because my “first” Wine Wednesday was not a crazy one. But I still drank wine and had a good time!

I had a pretty long day, got stuck in traffic, and made it home later than I anticipated. BUT my day was infinitely brightened by my sweet puppy dogs and their wiggling butts greeting me at the front door, my loving boyfriend who was cooking me dinner, and my amazing mom (and dad!) who sent me an almost-surprise care package that included my old favorite cinnamon sugar donuts and my new favorite pumpkin donuts from a local vendor in Ohio. Mmmm.

20121003-213309.jpg

Thanks, mom and dad! I promise I’ll never be too old for care packages! 😉

Blair made a delicious herbed spaghetti squash and mushroom risotto. This dinner reminded me of my childhood. Not because I ate these foods as a kid, but because we ate these foods in separate bowls. When I was a bit younger (and still sometimes to this day) I struggled to eat 2 different foods that touched on my plate. Yes, it’s weird. Yes, they “all end up in the same place.” No, I don’t care. Some foods shouldn’t make contact with each other. Which means I’ve dirtied hundreds of extra dishes in my short lifetime. Like tonight.

20121003-213741.jpg

Now, the good stuff. I was bad tonight and skipped my workout. I have about 12 excuses that don’t matter and 6 extra miles to make up before Monday that do matter.

Cue the wine. I was good tonight and shared my bottle of wine with Blair. We’ve had Blenheim Vineyards Painted Red a handful of times before. I love the concept. Dave Matthew owns the vineyard (we met him there!) and designs the labels for the Painted series each year. Which is super cool.

20121003-215636.jpg

The 2009 Painted Red is a blend of Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Petite Verdot. It’s pretty good! A nice mild red table wine that pairs well with squash, risotto, and donuts. What more do you need?

20121003-215912.jpg

The girls even got involved tonight!

20121003-214605.jpg

Gia is a notorious booze hound. Pun intended. She’s been caught knocking over beer bottles and licking up the mess, stealing Scotch from unattended glasses, and getting all up in my wine glasses. She’s such a sweetheart.

20121003-214846.jpg

We rounded out the night with DVR’d Revolution and a few minutes of the Presidential Debates.
We could have used an extra bottle of wine.

20121003-215011.jpg
Truth. (Source)

4 thoughts on “Wine Wednesday – Blenheim Vineyards Painted Red

  1. Love the picture! Speaking of, we haven’t talked about the December shows in Cville… I wish I wasn’t a broke grad student.

    I enjoyed my Wine Wednesday just the way I like it – cheap and delicious. I was much too tired at 10:30pm to enjoy anything but. 🙂

    • I wish you weren’t a broke grad student either. I think we’re trying to go to both shows in December if we can get tickets. I’ll probably sleep through it either way, so…

      Glad you enjoyed your Wine Wednesday! I know Wednesdays are long days for you… but cheap and delicious is a great way to cap off your night. 😉

    • Yum! Just looked it up – they do seem similar. I haven’t heard of the Ken Wright/Tyrus Evan labels, but I will definitely keep an eye out for them. Thanks for the heads up on another great wine! 🙂

Let's chat!

