September Foodie Penpal Reveal

My first Foodie Penpals experience was incredible. I was nervous and excited to see who I would be paired with and what sort of goodies she would send me. I was equally as nervous to send a package to my penpal. Overall, I think everyone won!

I was paired with Lindsay from Oklahoma. If you participate in FPP in the future, you better pray that you get paired with Lindsay! Thank you, thank you, thank you! It was her first month participating as well, but you’d never know it. We chatted via email and I gave her my likes (pumpkin and tea!) and she delivered. She even sent the package early with a wonderful card explaining what she chose and why! 🙂

Here’s what my package included:

– Toasted Wine Fruit Spread (!)
– Pumpkin Pie Popcorn (!)
– Daddy Hinkle’s Instant Marinade
– Spiceology Bonfire Smoked Sea Salt
– Iced tea and blueberry tea bags
– And a bonus non-food item, Sweet Cinnamon Pumpkin hand soap

See what I mean? She nailed it.

Can I pick a favorite item? Nope. The pumpkin pie popcorn was gone in about 3 days. And we really held back, trying to savor it and make it last. I’ve never in my life considered the magic of pumpkin pie popcorn, and for 26 years I’ve been missing out. Clearly, I had to pair it with an Octoberfest. I win.

The Toasted wine fruit spread (she knew she couldn’t send wine, but this is totally the next best thing!) is something special. It’s made with sangria and plums, and makes a great addition to my overnight oats. Yes, there might be a little bit of booze in my lunch a few days a week. 😉

The surprise of the package was Daddy Hinkle’s Marinade. We just used this over the weekend, and Blair and I both agree that it helped produce the best steak we’ve ever eaten. So obviously, we logged onto their website and ordered a case of marinade. Lindsay, you’ve created monsters!

Blair fell in love with the smoked sea salt. I actually saw him eat it plain. We haven’t had a chance to use it on many items yet, but we’re both sure it will become a kitchen staple. Lindsay uses it to give a smokey flavor to food, because she isn’t allowed to have a grill at her apartment (silly rules). When life gives you salt, smoke it. No, no. That doesn’t work. Moving on.

We made the iced + blueberry tea (but left out the sugar – we’re splenda nerds over here). It was perfect. Sweet and fruity, nice and light. Yum.

Last but not least, the non-food soap (do I have to keep specifying that soap isn’t food?) is such a treat! It’s probably half full at this point, because I’m a hand washing fool, and this soap smells divine.

With the risk of sounding like a broken record, my first FPP experience was amazing. Here’s hoping to many more months of yummy food and new friends. Thanks again, Lindsay! 🙂

Want more info on Foodie Penpals? Click the button below for all the details!

7 thoughts on “September Foodie Penpal Reveal

  1. Pingback: February Foodie Penpals Reveal Day | She Wines Sometimes

Let's chat!

