Finding Motivation and Setting Fitness Goals

I’ve been struggling to find my fitness motivation lately. When I have a “bad” workout, I beat myself up and get frustrated. Then I put extra pressure on myself during my next workout, and feel extra stress. I keep telling myself “this should be fun!” and reminding myself that anything is better than nothing. I need to learn to actually listen to my own advice.

Last week, I started looking into running programs. Since I’ve only been running for a few months, I want a way to keep getting better and to have a plan moving forward instead of getting stale. I settled on Hal Higdon’s 10K Intermediate Training Program. I’ve also switched up my strength training routine, hiring Coach as a personal trainer for 1 month with 2 of my bootcamp buddies. We start tomorrow!

And then, boom! I read a fantastic post today from Andrea at A Doctor In the House. To celebrate her 100th blog post, she compiled 100 healthy living tips and motivational images from other bloggers, readers, and other corners of the internet. I so needed these tips today!

So with a new training plan, Andrea’s post was the last little kick in the pants I needed to find my lost motivation! Who knew it was here the whole time, just hiding somewhere in my brain. You should definitely check out her site, and especially her 100 Healthy Living Tips and Motivational Images. Here are a few of my favorites…

– One day of bad eating won’t make you fat; just like how one day of good eating won’t make you skinny.

– Set mini goals and celebrate when you hit them – a month with no pop, completing all of your scheduled workouts for 2 weeks, being able to run for 20 minutes without stopping. Checking off small but important goals in your journey is vital to staying motivated. From http://running-tall.com.

– Push your limits — sign up for a new race, try a new workout or even add a new healthy food to your diet. It’ll keep healthy living interesting and engaging. From www.crazyrunninggirl.com.

– Schedule your workouts. When they are written in your calendar it makes it feel like a priority! From www.foodfitnessandfamilyblog.com.

– Read healthy living blogs They are constant motivation to stay healthy… plus they have amazing tips, workouts, and recipes!

I’m glad to have found a resource to keep me on track and remind me that I’m not the only person who has ever had a bad run or eaten an extra cupcake. I’m a work in progress, and I’m so much more fit mentally and physically than I was 3 months ago.

So here’s to a new set of goals and the happiness that will come from my hard work!

20120924-214906.jpg (Source)

Want to follow along with my training program? Check out my new Workout Log!

2 thoughts on “Finding Motivation and Setting Fitness Goals

Let's chat!

