Tailgate Food – Creamy Baked Mac + Cheese

I survived my first tailgate with Blair’s family! And it was a blast. With an understanding that copious amounts of food and beer would be consumed, we hit the gym on Saturday morning to try to offset our moderate ridiculous indulgences.

He ran a few miles on the treadmill and I completed a mildly challenging bootcamp. Even though I knew I needed to work hard, my motivation levels stunk. I just couldn’t push myself like I usually do. My hip flexor was being a jerk and my hamstrings were tighter than ever, and I just didn’t have the drive to push through. But I tried.

We decided to try a recipe from Taste of Home which was described as “the ultimate mac and cheese” for our tailgate contribution. We made a few small changes and doubled the recipe (which was completely unnecessary) and it truly was the ultimate mac and cheese.

20120923-111151.jpg

Along with our 2,000,000 calorie pasta side dish, we had wings, an awesome broccoli salad, fruit, cheese, and beer. These guys are tailgate veterans. With 2 boys that played college football, Blair’s parents got a lot of practice, and this was one of the best Saturday afternoons I’ve had, full of tasty food and fun! I even tolerated the football game! There was a lightning delay, so technically I only tolerated the first half of a football game. But it’s a start!

Unfortunately, W&M is off to a rough start this season, at 0 and 4. I didn’t know it, but I was supposed to bring good luck last night. I failed. When we sought shelter after the lightning, the game was already pretty miserable to watch. We left early, and it didn’t get much better and they lost. But I had fun, and isn’t that all that matters?!

No party is complete without dessert. I tried out a Pinterest recipe for Pumpkin Spice Latte Cupcakes that were out of this world. We even made new friends and shared cupcakes with our tailgate neighbors. 2 dozens cupcakes is too many for 6 people.

Want to give your cardiovascular system a test of its health? Try this recipe. The good thing about it is that you only need a few bites to feel satisfied. It’s a special occasion treat only!


The Ultimate Creamy Macaroni and Cheese
Serves 6. Adapted from Taste of Home.

– 1/2 pound jumbo elbow macaroni
– 1/2 cup butter, cubed
– 1/2 cup flour
– 1 1/2 cups 2% milk
– 1/2 sweet onion, diced
– 1 teaspoon olive oil
– 8 ounces 2% Velveeta cheese, cubed
– 8 ounces light sour cream
– 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 1/2 teaspoon pepper
– 1/2 teaspoon ground mustard
– 2 cups freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese
– 1/2 cup bacon bits

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease 3 quart baking dish.

Cook macaroni according to package directions. In a small skillet, sweat onion in olive oil on low heat, until softened. While pasta is cooking, melt butter in a large saucepan. When butter is melted, stir in flour until smooth. Slowly stir in milk and cook on medium until thick, stirring constantly (2-4 minutes). Once the bechamel (yep, you just made a fancy French sauce) has thickened, stir in Velveeta, sour cream, Parmesan, salt, pepper, and ground mustard and heat on medium until all cheese has melted.

Drain pasta, pour into greased 3 quart baking dish. Toss pasta with cheddar cheese, then stir in cheese sauce, onion, and bacon. Bake uncovered for 30-45 minutes or until cheese is melted and golden brown.

Go for a long run, then enjoy this indulgent creamy, cheesy goodness!

One thought on “Tailgate Food – Creamy Baked Mac + Cheese

  1. Pingback: Sweet Genius – Pumpkin Spice Latte Cupcakes | She Wines Sometimes

Let's chat!

