Fresh and Easy Pad Thai

A year ago, I had never eaten Thai. Now I can’t get enough! We’re lucky to have a nice little restaurant down the road, but I saw this recipe on Pinterest a few months ago and had to try it for myself!

I’ve made this a handful of times and never, ever been disappointed. YUM. It tastes so fresh and you have total control over what you put in. With 15 minutes of prep, you’re basically done. So not only does this taste fantastic, it’s cheap, fast, and easy! Blair drools practically the entire time I’m cooking. I don’t blame him.

The only alterations I make to this recipe are more lime and the addition of sesame oil and chicken. Otherwise, I don’t change a thing!

Of course, since it’s September and the theme of my life until December is pumpkin
I had to sample some fall beers. While the chicken and noodles were cooking and my Post Road Pumpkin Ale was chilling, I grabbed an Octoberfest. Can’t go wrong there.

20120913-200410.jpg

Have I ever mentioned that almost nothing is more relaxing than cooking? Add a beer or two and all my worries melt away. So clearly, I’m happy.

Keep cooking. Follow the recipe below. After dinner, open your pumpkin ale!

20120913-200449.jpg
Mmmmmmm. This is the first time I’ve tried this. It’s wonderful. Smooth, rich, and a great pumpkin spice flavor. As a pumpkin lover (not a critic), I give it an A! I’d happily sip another.

The rest of the evening entailed crocheting and relaxing. I need to finish baby K’s blanket ASAP!


Fresh and Easy Pad Thai
Generously serves 2. From Brownies for Dinner.

8 ounces dried rice noodles
1 large boneless, skinless chicken breast
4 tablespoons brown sugar, divided
4 tablespoons fresh lime juice, divided, plus wedges for serving
5 tablespoons soy sauce, divided
1 tablespoon sesame oil, divided
3 scallions, white and green parts, separated and sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
2 large eggs, light beaten
1/2 cup fresh cilantro
1/8 cup fresh Thai basil
1/4 cup chopped salted peanuts

Combine 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 2 tablespoons lime juice, and 3 tablespoons soy sauce to make sauce. Set aside.
Combine 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 2 tablespoons lime juice, and 2 tablespoons soy sauce to make chicken marinade. Add chicken, soak 10 minutes.
Cook noodles according to package directions.
Heat 1/2 tablespoon sesame oil in a large skillet. Cook chicken over medium high heat until no longer pink, then transfer to separate plate.
Add 1/2 tablespoon sesame oil, garlic, and the white parts of the scallions to hot skillet. Cook for about 30 seconds until fragrant. Add eggs and scramble until almost fully cooked (30 seconds), then transfer to plate.
Add sauce, noodles, chicken, and green parts of scallions to skillet. Cook about 1 minute, stirring frequently. Add egg mixture back into skillet. Mix all together! You’re done!

Garnish Pad Thai with chopped peanuts, cilantro, Thai basil, and the juice from a lime wedge. Enjoy!

20120913-202400.jpg

Cooking is exhausting (but look at our smiles!).

20120913-202425.jpg

4 thoughts on “Fresh and Easy Pad Thai

Let's chat!

