Easy Make Ahead Breakfast – Cottage Cheese Muffins

When I first stumbled on this recipe for cottage cheese muffins I was really excited. I love cottage cheese, and every other ingredient in these muffins. I proudly exclaimed to Blair (not a cottage cheese fan) that I was going to make these so we could have breakfast on the run. He was… disgusted unenthused.

I worked in the kitchen while he was in the living room. After about 15 minutes in the oven, the smell of baking cheese, sun dried tomatoes, and basil intrigued him. It honestly smells like you’re cooking a pizza – delish. Once they were out of the oven, he waited maybe 3 minutes before wandering into the kitchen. We split a muffin. Then I think he had another one when I turned my back.

Needless to say, these have been our go-to make ahead breakfast for the past few months. I keep calling them muffins – but they’re more like an eggy quiche. Soft and fluffy, not dense and hearty. And so savory. Unlike any other muffin I’ve had!

The original recipe has done well for us, so I rarely make changes. The yield on original is 9, but I easily get 12 muffins out of the same recipe. I usually add a squeeze of fresh lemon juice and some zest so brighten things up, and bake for slightly less time since my muffins are smaller.

Get ready for some protein packed deliciousness! I’m a snacker, and 1 of these at breakfast holds me over until my 10am snack. If I eat something else for breakfast (overnight oats!) I’ll have a muffin as a snack. It’s easy to work these into my diet.

Grab your ingredients (Who stole my cheese?! Just kidding – I forgot to include it in the picture).

20120909-180916.jpg

First things first, grind your whole almonds into an almond flour (or just buy almond flour). I use my Ninja food processor (thanks, mom!) and give ~1 cup of whole almonds a few whirs until they’re tiny chunks. We like the crunch, but if you don’t, grind them up some more.

Mix all ingredients (except eggs and zest) in a large bowl. Reserve 1/4 cup Parmesan for topping.

20120909-181424.jpg

20120909-181439.jpg

Beat eggs well in a small bowl. Stir eggs and zest together until combined.

20120909-204146.jpg

Spray your muffin tin with cooking spray. Use extra and be sure to spray some on the floor accidentally so your dogs can have a special treat.

20120909-204329.jpg

Scoop 1/4 cup batter into each muffin cup and top with a sprinkle of Parmesan. Bake at 375F for ~25 minutes until cheese is lightly browned.

20120909-204448.jpg


Cottage Cheese Muffins
Yield 12. Adapted from 101 Cookbooks.

– 1 cup cottage cheese
– 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese (reserve 1/4 cup for topping muffins)
– 1 cup almonds, finely ground
– 1/4 cup flour
– 1 teaspoon baking powder
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes in oil, chopped
– 20 fresh picked basil leaves, chopped
– 3 sprigs fresh parsley, chopped
– 1/4 cup water
– 1 teaspoon lemon juice
– Zest of 1/2 lemon
– 4 eggs, beaten

Preheat oven to 375F. Combine first 11 ingredients in a large bowl. Beat eggs, add eggs and zest to batter, mix well. Scoop 1/4 cup batter into each muffin cup and top with a sprinkle of Parmesan. Bake at 375F for ~25 minutes until cheese is lightly browned.

Store in an airtight container or ziplock bag in the refrigerator for up to 1 week. Heat in microwave for a few seconds before eating. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Easy Make Ahead Breakfast – Cottage Cheese Muffins

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins | She Wines Sometimes

Let's chat!

