Long, lazy weekend

This weekend has been almost perfect. After finishing the whole house cleaning fest on Saturday, we shopped for hours. I should have taken more pictures. But shopping is distracting!

We started at Home Goods, where Blair was sweet enough to buy me a drink dispenser. I’ve wanted one for awhile but never gone through with the purchase. As soon as we got it home, I scrubbed it out and filled it with Sparkling Watermelon Sangria. Yum.

20120903-125707.jpg

We also stopped at a Mediterranean Deli and Bakery for fresh from the oven spinach pies, stuffed grape leaves, tabouli, and baklava. How did I live on this earth for 26 years without knowing the joy and delight of baklava?

20120903-125908.jpg

Our next stop was Total Wine. Yesssss. I had to get ingredients for the sangria and Blair wanted some beer. We walked out with four 6 packs of pumpkin beer, 2 cases of regular party beer, 2 bottles of wine, and some chocolate. Not a bad trip.

20120903-130752.jpg

At Costco, we picked up fresh pressed burgers, buns, and other cookout staples. We also picked out a bouquet of fresh flowers to spruce things up a bit. And another case of Octoberfest. Because you can never have too much Octoberfest.

20120903-131147.jpg

We had friends over on Saturday and enjoyed chatting and boozing on the back patio. I drank a lot of sangria.

On Sunday, we slept in and treated ourselves to brunch. I had coffee and french toast. Blair had a bloody mary and eggs benedict. We split the bacon and eggs that came with my french toast. On the way home, we stopped at CVS for poster board to make a light box so I can pretend that my iPhone pictures are higher quality. I got the idea here and followed this video. It really was easy and cheap!

20120903-132701.jpg

Then we headed over to our friends’ house to swim and booze and relax. And that we did. The girls got to have a play date with their boyfriend! They were so excited.

20120903-132812.jpg

And now, to tackle Monday. I hope you have a restful and peaceful Labor Day!

2 thoughts on “Long, lazy weekend

  1. can’t wait to hear which pumpkin beer you guys liked best! I love pumpkin beer! Also, great idea with the light box – I often think that my pictures are awful, but I go for it anyways! Happy Labor Day!

  2. We already know we LOVE the Starr Hill Boxcar, but we are excited to try the rest! I can’t wait for pumpkin spice lattes at Starbucks. Yummm, pumpkin! You should try a lightbox – it was crazy easy and I bet you have all the supplies except the lights. We got them for less than $20 at Home Depot.

Let's chat!

