DIY Knotted Headband

I wish I could wear headbands. But for some reason, I always feel so silly and unfashionable when I put one on. Lucky for me and my crafty side, Jenny looks cute no matter what she wears and really likes headbands. So much so, that months ago, she tagged me in a pin asking to make her a knotted headband. So I did. Because I’m an awesome friend.

20120830-215143.jpg
Cami at You Seriously Made That? made such a fantastic tutorial on this headband that I won’t even try to replicate it here. But if you think the headband is cute – or want to see lots of other awesome DIYs – check out here site ASAP. You won’t regret it. My only tip is to pull gently when securing your knot if you want the knot to stay large. The tighter you pull, the smaller the knot. And if you make a mistake, untie the knot and start over!

I used I Love This Yarn in Tuscany from Hobby Lobby with a size H crochet hook. The yarn is super softand so fun to work with! I also picked up 3/4 inch white ribbon to use as the adjustable tie.

When gluing the yarn strands together, I had the best luck gluing from the back side very slowly. If the glue seeps to the front of the headband, or if you touch it, or look at it wrong, the glue will get all funky and look ugly. I learned the hot glue is fickle. But on my 3rd try I nailed it! Or glued it. Whatever.

Give this headband a try and let me know how it turns out!

In other news, Gia caught an elusive stick today and hid it in the love seat. Neither Blair nor I noticed it until she jumped off the couch, grabbed it, and snuggled back up with us to chew. I guess we’re lucky it wasn’t a live turtle. But that’s a story for a different day.

20120830-221009.jpg

5 thoughts on “DIY Knotted Headband

  1. Pingback: I could be prosecuted + Jenny’s birthday | She Wines Sometimes

  2. Pingback: Crochet Coffee Mug Sleeve (and Concord grape wine!) | She Wines Sometimes

Let's chat!

